Discover Tohoku | Japan National Tourism Organization

Discover The Exclusive Hideaway in Japan

Tohoku is a region which consists six northeastern prefectures of Japan. These prefectures are: Aomori, Akita, Iwate, Yamagata, Miyagi and Fukushima, the nature of this region is untouched by human hands. One of the best ways to access to Tohoku will be using the JR Tohoku Shinkansen from Tokyo. The train journey only takes about 3 hours and you will truly get to experience the most raw and authentic form of Japan.

This region has the most breathtaking nature scenery alongside with the rich history and warm culture. During all four seasons, Tohoku is known for offering the most beautiful cherry blossom viewing sites in spring, hosting the largest Natsu Matsuri (summer festival) in summer, forest filled with reddish-brown leaves in autumn and the unique natural phenomena that makes a parade for winter sports in winter.

Locals in Tohoku enjoy living together with nature while admiring the beauty of four seasons and have their kind of entertainment and cuisine culture.

What are you waiting for? It’s time to embark on an amazing discovery journey in search of the hidden sides of Japan and create your kind of story in Tohoku.

Tohoku Recommendations

Oirase Stream (Aomori)
Hirosaki Castle (Aomori)
Kakunodate (Akita)
Tazawa Lake (Akita)
Ginzan Onsen (Yamagata)
Yamadera (Yamagata)
Hiraizumi (Iwate)
Geibikei Gorge (Iwate)
Matsushima (Miyagi)
Snow Monsters of Mt. Zao (Miyagi)
Goshikinuma (Fukushima)

Tohoku Sample Itinerary